US Brig Syren by rtropp - Model Shipways - 1:64

Yes, another Syren.

This one a little different from the others. I am a rank beginner who is learning kit building as I go. That means that unlike some of the other builds, this will probably be more of a treatise on what not to do. Thank goodness for the build logs on the site. I would not have gotten even this far without them.

While I began the kit in May, 2013, I held off on a build log until I was sure I would this was a hobby I was going to continue working on. A number of builders have been urging me to create the log and, having gotten to the point of being ready to plank, I figured it was time to make the plunge. I have been taking photos from the start of the build so I have history from the beginning.

I am not normally a handy person, clumsy is more like it. I work slowly to allow myself time to think about what I will be doing. At the same time as I am building the kit, I also work with fine arts projects. I bought an airbrush to help with painting the kit, but I have already begun to test it my fine arts projects. The sunroom in my house is my studio and I have a pretty nice set up with mostly hand tools and a Dremel.

I am converting the kit build photos to a smaller format so they will upload and should begin having something up fairly soon.

I look forward to not only the input from more experienced builders but also the conversations that make this an enjoyable social activity.

I will start with a picture of my build as it is today, then backtrack to earlier phones.

Richard

post-4218-0-92488700-1375822803_thumb.jpg

Edited by rtropp

Richard
Member: The Nautical Research Guild
                Atlanta Model Shipwrights

Current build: Syren

Note:

I will have closer pictures of the model itself as soon as I have all this figured out.

Thanks

Richard

Edited by rtropp

Richard

And so, in the beginning post-4218-0-56549500-1375823540_thumb.jpgpost-4218-0-94777200-1375823619_thumb.jpg