My First Kit Pick Ups.... Beginners Kit Recommendation?

DeHammer

I'm new to wooden ship models, though I have built plastic model kits. I've actually been wanting to try building a wooden ship since I was a kid, but just never got around to it in my younger years. I'm slowly inching toward retirement in a decade and kind of thought now's the time to learn more about building wooden ship models. I don't want to wait any longer. 

Though it's been in the back of mind,  stumbling across a good deal on a beginning level ship model pulled me in. I found a Billing Boats kit of the 'Dana' Danish fishing boat in my area for $14. I couldn't pass it up. It's basically new, and not started. Seems to have all the pieces. Now, after joining site I've learned that Billings kits aren't very 'beginner friendly'. Apparently they lack in the quality of the instructions and expect you know more than you do. I've also read that Billings kits employ a single layered plank on frame hull... where as other manufacturers make double layer hulls which tend to be more forgiving. In this case the 'Dana' is an ABS hull. So it's probably still a good kit for me to get into early on. But I wonder if it should be my first.... 

Is there a stand out kit that most often gets recommended for beginners? 

I also picked up this kit... another Billing Boats kit. I know this one will be on the shelf for some time as I have a lot to learn and some experience to gain before attempting. But it's a kit I know that I want to build one day, and the price seemed good. It's the Nr.576 'Bluenose' in 1:65 scale. The fact it's 'laser cut' seemed like an indication it might not be too outdated. It's complete and not started.