I'm not a modeler but...

rmitch2

Hey everyone,

Joined the forum looking for information.  I understand I am new here and do not have any other posts so you don't know if you can trust me or not but all I can do is ask.  A while back a one of my shipmates (I am a US Navy Submarine Veteran) passed.  We say he went on eternal patrol.  Anyway, I was entrusted with 2 model ships from him with the intention to sell and then have the proceeds go directly to the USSVI Charitable Foundation.  I really have no idea the value or best way to sell or find appropriate buyers for these ships.  One is on a stand and has a name Fragata Espanola 1780.  There is a paper tag on it indicating it was purchased in Spain in the 70's and it was made by prisoners and sold in the streets there.  The other is in a glass case about 3' long and 3' high.  By google searches I think it might be a whaler?  Charles Morgan?  It is not in the best of shape and certainly needs some care and attention.  If anyone can help me figure out a direction to go with this or has any info at all on these 2 ships please reply or PM me.  I read the note about sharing emails so after PMing maybe we can email or phone.   I assure you I am not trying to make a penny off this and only want to find a good home and get whatever value these might be worth.  I am going to try to attach a couple pictures.  Thank You

ship 2.jpg

ship 2 tag.jpg

PXL_20230424_151706067.jpg

PXL_20230424_151702768.jpg

PXL_20230424_151700124.jpg

PXL_20230424_151746783.jpg

Hi, Mitch.

The first model is a mass-produced decor model with essentially zero resale value. The second model is likely made from the Artesania Latina kit. Being a kit model and given its current state of disrepair, its resale value is also negligible. If it were repaired, it might be worth a few bucks -- not a lot, just a few, but restoration work is not cheap, and finding buyers for a model like that is not easy.

Wish I could give you better news.

Chris Coyle