Size of rigging / ropes for San Francisco Cross section

Good Day,

Complete newbie and already obsessing about the correct diameter for the ropes and rigging.  I recently purchased the Artesania Latina "San Francisco" cross-section model. I've noticed that the tread is about 0.25mm diameter (except for one that is 0.15). I'm wondering if that is the correct diameter for the 1/50 model because I would like to substitute them with some better Cotton Ropes (or polyester) from Ropes of scale.  

Probably the first volley of another upcoming gazillion questions :) 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

Stephane Hubert

WELCOME TO MSW Stephane!

Without knowing which lines you are referring to there is no way to know if the rope sizes you give are correct or not.   While San Francisco is a different nationality and supposedly a galleon from the 16th century there is likely very little, if any, contemporary information on rigging but lacking such contemporary information, there is a spread sheet here at MSW that will give you every line size as well as the masts and spars for English ships from about 1650.  I suspect rigging line sizes will be similar for your Spanish ship if not exact.  Hopefully some member has contemporary information on rigging for the 16th century.    You will need some basic information on the length and breadth of the full size San Francisco or at least something close.   Go to the articles data base here at MSW and hopefully the spread sheet in the rigging section from Danny Vadas will give you something close to the correct sizes.  Keep in mind a lot of rigging was given in circumference, not diameter.  I tried to post the link here, but having trouble getting on the NRG website where this is stored. 

Allan

PLEASE take 30 SECONDS and sign up for the epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series.   Click on http://trafalgar.tv   There is no cost other than the 30 seconds of your time.  THANK YOU