Looking for information on boat stowage aboard Roman 1st-century sailing vessel

I'm a historical fiction writer presently dealing with an incident described in Acts 27:16,17, where during cyclonic conditions,  an Alexandrian grain ship has to haul its towed (semi-swamped) longboat up onto the deck - described by the writer as being  'very difficult'. I have very little nautical knowledge, and am struggling to visualise how this might have been done in the absence of davits and, how and where it could have been secured on deck. Later in the record the sailors attempted to relaunched it to save themselves but the Centurion in charge cut the ropes and it 'dropped into the sea'.  So that indicates to me that hauling a boat on deck, and re-launching it from , was not unusual. But how on earth did they manage it? 
I have trawled the internet to find any helpful ideas, and your model ship world is the only place I've found which even mentions it.
If anyone can suggest answers,  from their own knowledge/experience, I would be so grateful.  Thank you.

SJ, welcome to MSW. I don't have the answer to your question but I'm sure someone will have one for you shortly. Glad to have you aboard.

Prior to the  17th century the largest boats were nearly always towed, at least on English boats, using two ropes, the boat rope and gust rope. This started to change during the 17th century for the English ships.  Smaller boats were carried on the ship midships.  Later, even larger boats could be carried on board.

Before davits were introduced about 1790 the boats were raised and lowered from the ship by tackle suspended from the main and fore yardarms.   They were stowed midships, on deck, or in larger ships on beams over the waist area.  Brian Lavery goes into some good detail on how this was done on page 233 of The Arming and Fitting of English Ships of War.  The following is his description of hoisting boats.