Finding cannons available for large scratch build scales

Hello Everyone!

So I'm starting the planning process for a large scratch build project for the distant future. I'm confident I can create everything except one item, the cannons.

I have 100 cannons/cannonades ranging from 12 to 36lb. Scale; 1:48 to 1:42.

Yes, this is big. I have been searching  online, but I'm not seeing much at this scale. I'm not interested in creating these on a lathe, just too many and too many different sizes.

Would it be feasible to outsource these? I would prefer to have them in brass but I'm open to suggestions!

So jump in here and give me your 2 cents, and if you have a dime, I'm all ears :)!

Warm Regards,

Bill

Passion is Patience...and I am a carpenter in any scale.

Current build;  Endurance - 1:70 scale, Occre

Current build;    H.M.S. Surprise - 1796, 1:48 A L

If you are scratch building, its seems odd to want to buy cannon off-the-shelf!

If you don't want to do repetitive turning, simply make a master of each variety and then make a mold. You can then cast all the cannon in the sizes that you need.

Be sure to sign up for an epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series  http://trafalgar.tv

If you cast them, cast them with trunnions. You could make the patterns and take them to a foundry that will cast in brass or a malleable bronze. The foundry castings would allow you to, after drilling the bores, to load and fire the things, a filament ignition device should be easy to make. Why have guns, if you can't shoot the things?

jud

Hi Brian!

I looked at Chuck's site. Syren doesn't have cannons this size. Without getting into specifics, my largest cannons would be 83mm given a scale of 1:42.

I don't want to get into specifics about the build itself. Just looking for sources for these larger than normal armaments.

Warm Regards,

Bill

Druxey,