Starting equipment

As a complete newbie. I wanted advice on what works as a starter's model table . I plan to be doing this for awhile , so I do want something of substance.

Also what sorts of tools do I need and are there good sets or brands  out there.

Who are the quality producers of tools ect.

Thanks for advice in advance

Sygreen,

You only need to post once so as not to clutter the forums.  I've removed your other posts on the same subject for the sake of clarity.

It's difficult to know how to advise you without knowing the sort of model you want to start with.  What part of the world you live in might also help re availability of equipment.

You only need to start small, buying only what tools you need as you go.  The main thing is to buy good quality.  Yes, they're far more expensive, but they'll do the job better and last you a lifetime.

John

Sygreen, this whole hobby is about making models and have some fun in the process. I agree that you should start with a relatively 'simple' but interesting kit model. There are many available and I assume you already know that.

The basic tools are those you might expect to see here and I am not going to enumerate them. However, the main thing is that you should have, or develop, some skills in handling small details, some small hand tools and not worry about large investments in lathes, milling machines, etc.

As John asked, what is it that you want to do? I am sure you don't want to collect nice tools.

Then go from there.

Jay

Current build Cross Section USS Constitution  http://modelshipworld.com/index.php/topic/10120-cross-section-forward-area-of-the-uss-constitution/

Finished USS Constitution:  http://modelshipworld.com/index.php?/topic/103-uss-constitution-by-modeler12/

'A picture is worth a  . . . . .'      More is better . . . .

Sygreen,