Hi,

I'm currently in the research stage, I intend to order my kit this week (the Amati 1700/10 J-Class yacht).

I've been reading through every single resource I can find on planking techniques, and I have a few questions that I'm struggling to find answers for.

1) There's a lot of information out there on the spiling technique. There's no doubt that the results look cool, but I'm curious as to how this relates to the real world building. Are full scale boats every planked using this technique? I can't image that the wast of wood would be acceptable. If this is just for looks then I'm surprised that scale accuracy isn't more of a concern for many builders, is that the case?

2) With regards to the spiling technique, what's the situation in a kit where there are two layers of planking? Is splining really reserved for a single layer?

3) Since this is my first build I currently plan to use the wood stock that comes wit the kit (no spiling therefore). In this case I'm really struggling to find some good resources for this style of planking - can anyone please suggest some?

4) I bought the book called "Ship Modeling Simplified". In that book the author places each plank in place, temporarily bends it to mark the overlap points with the previous plank, then cuts a straight line between the two points. I've not seen this method documented anywhere else and I'd like to know what experienced builders think of it. 

5) The only other resource I'd found for planking using the kit supplied wood chooses to instead divide up the hull into parts, measure the width of each of the planks to each bulkhead, then sand down each plank to get the width required (

). How effective is this compared to the method described in (4) ?

Thanks,

Tim 

Hi Tim,

Method 4 or 5 will give you a nice appearing hull.  Do consider using that of #5 to prevent things going wildly out control due to tolerance buildup, .. or not.