USS Constitution by LASVcard - Revell - 1:96 - PLASTIC - First build, here we go.

Got the kit for Christmas, convinced my wife to let me into it early. Been going on it for about a week now. Kinda crazy all the additional little purchases you need to make to aid in the build.

1.thumb.jpg.31104f897656f516418ab7342e34bec7.jpg

This image is from a few days ago. I had seen different recommendations on how to paint (I'm REALLY new to this) as far as priming, thinning, enamel vs acrylic. I decided to go with enamel, no priming or thinning so that I wouldn't have to paint the whole hull black, but I'm regretting that a little now and I'll probably have to go back through and paint all the black to get rid of the little mistakes I made with the white. I taped off the waterline to get a nice clean line, but there was some seepage in places, more drastic in others as well... I cleaned that by taking a Q-tip soaked in thinner and rubbed it off, same as I did with the white, which you can tell it kinda left smears, a few more wipes with a clean Q-tip and it mostly went away. You also can't really tell in the picture, but there are obvious brushstrokes in the copper plating below the waterline and I don't really know how to get rid of them. I'm thinking I just need to paint another coat with some thinned paint.

From here on out, I'm going to be priming any large part that I need to paint (decks, mast, etc.), and thinning at a paint to thinner ratio of 15:1.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

-Galen

Edited by LASVcard

Hi Galen,

If your worried about brush strokes you could try using a foam brush. I had issues with the white as the black tends to bleed through so I just used a lot of white. I mostly used Acrylic on mine. Tip though I would paint the inside before getting to far into the deck going in. I forgot to do that on mine. After copper painting I had to varnish or else the paint on mine kept rubbing off.

Tim