Making unventable tungsten reinforced masts

I'm a newbie modeller, so please consider this article as a beginner's rough idea.

1. Problem

Wood is weak. According to the Young's modulus of elasticity, most wood sticks are vendable 10 times easier than copper or brass rods. While an elasticity of birch wood which is commonly used for mast is just about 15 GPa while the other commonly used woods spread over 6~12 GPa.
vent.jpg.cd1a7d5c6e3e60489364a45460fb0f8f.jpg

(Cutty sark, National Research Institute of Maritime Cultural Heritage, South Korea)

Because of the weakness, thin masts such as under 5mm are easily vendable or breakable. The reason of the defects are various like a rigging tension, humidity, temperature, and sun light. It is a critical defect for wooden ship model because it makes the model really bad. Most wooden model ship's life time is longer than decades, and it is very difficult to keep wood condition stable for that long time.Therefore, we need to do something on wooden masts to keep it best.

2. Concept

If wood is weak, then we can use or add another materials to overcome within a boundary of 'wooden model ship'.

(2-1) Metal mast
Easiest way to make an unventable mast. Only for painted ships such as HMS Victory. Also, it costs a lot for beginners. It requires metal lathe which costs more than $1,000.

metalcoremast.png.097c9b4d172df2421de3e5e3a65b8ba1.png

(2-2) Metal cored mast
For non-painted masts, we can insert very firm metal core into a mast like a pencil. A benefit of this method is is that you can make your own mast regardless the wood's firmness. I'm making Padauk surface + tungsten core masts. You can use any kind of beautiful woods even if it is a Balsa. Even if a grain is 90 degrees angled which is the weakest situation, the metal core will endure the pressure.

3. materials

(1) Young's modulus of elasticity

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Young's_modulus