Ship Supplies

Capt Nemo

I have a question for you fine gentlemen out there. Where is a good place to buy supplies? I'm located in the great north ,aka canada; and i'm having a very tough time tracking a good supplier for anything wooden ship related. Here in calgary there's only a couple stores that i found to carry wooden ship supplies and thier selection is very limited, as in almost non-existent. Nowadays with the interwebz i can shop global, but i do get hesitent to send money to a company i don't know of and have no attachement to. So to you veterans out there on these wonderful boards I ask, where do you buy your supplies from? I would much prefer to send my hard earned money somewhere deserved then a greedy, faceless company that doesn't care for the hobby. I've seen the love and wormth this community has for it's craft and craftsmen/women here in, so to whom do you send your money for supplies/kits?

This is my first build and i'm ready to give up on this great hobby because of the lack of information and a readily available supplies. I'm well over a few months in and things are becoming too stressful for me (PTSD) and this was supposed to be a hobby to quiet the mind. Everything from "what glue does what and goes where?" to "what paint dose what with what sealer?" turned into a quest for answers and slaying dragons. Sorry if i sounds a little fustrated with the process of learning this new and exciting hobby, but i've always needed knowledge befor the leap. As a great man once told me "Fail to plan, you plan to fail". 

I do think a list of worthy suppliers is needed and incase it was covered in a previous post i appoligize in advance.

~All the best~

Nemo