Zr.Ms. Adviesbrik Snelheid by PilotNL - FINISHED - Small - Desktop model by Rico van Dijk

Hi all!

This is my first build, so I decided to go with something small to get into practice.

I found a subject in a book with Dutch sailing ships:

"Nederlandse schoeners & Brikken by Vos, Ron de " 

The schip features about one page with a brief description, line plans and a basic rigging plan.

Zr.Ms. Adviesbrik Snelheid was built in 1830 

For materials I took a block of firewood and some string, glue and paint from the shed.

total cost: zero.

With a handsaw, and a plane I created two flat surfaces on the block with a 90 degree angle between.

I carefully copied the sheerplan and symetric halfbreath plan to the block with pensel.

Using a handsaw I roughly cut the shapes out, with some chisels and sandpaper I completed the shape of the hull, excluding the keel.

From remaining material of the wooden block I cut a thin plan and cut out the keel with a jigsaw. I intended to make it out of one piece, however I mis measured the length of the ship and the easiest method to correct my mistake was to cut the keel in half, right where the stand would be. 

The keel is glued to the hull with white wood glue.

IMG_0793.JPEG

IMG_0814.JPEG

IMG_0835.jpg

IMG_0816.JPEG

IMG_0797.JPEG

IMG_0796.JPEG

For the spars I tried to turn round poles in the dril, but found it easier to make a square pole, then sand it down to 8 sides and then round.

I measured the thinkess of the spars and calculated the scale thikness but that would be too thin to be practical, so I took the liberty to make the topmast and topgallant a fraction thicker, rounded up to the nearest milimeter.

The smallest detail of the and crosstrees are 1/2 x 3 milimeters.

Without a drill press (I have one ordered wher I can mount my hand drill into but it's not in yet).