Lowell Grand Banks Dory by Mark m - Model Shipways - 1:24 - FINISHED

I am new to ship models, and haven’t built any models in 40 years.  My goal with this build is to learn/relearn basic skills.

The instructions in this kit appear quite complete, and I am doing my best to fellow them.  I’m also only buying tools beyond those in the kit as needed – which is a challenge because I love tools, and especially toolsets.

Others have posted build logs for this kit, and I am not going to reinvent the wheel.  I’ll skim through the parts that went well, and go into more detail where things went wrong or got confusing.

The first step is to assemble the boat bottom.  It’s just three pre-cut boards, glued together, which seemed pretty straightforward.  The kit includes a single-board bottom in case the first step goes awry.  I didn’t use it, except for protections during clamping.

The next step is the frames.  There are 5, and patterns are provided to build those.  I immediately ran in to an issue, i.e., the template is not the same size as the provided parts.  I made the best match I could – see pictures.  I also had some difficulty keeping the bottoms of the frames aligned, and I know the frames are not quite right.  Some closed up a little too much on bottom and some too wide.

Further along in the build, I had trouble getting the pre-cut strakes aligned properly, which I suspect is caused by this error.  I have heard (and now proved to myself!) that errors compound.

Any tips on getting the frame construction right will be appreciated.  Mostly how to overlay the two sides to ensure the result is level and symmetric.

More to come ...

Log 1-1.JPG

Log 1-2.JPG

Log 1-3.JPG

Log 1-4.JPG

Edited by Mark m

Dory Build Log Part 2 Stem, Transom and Bending the Bottom

I built up the transom and stern knee next.