Are these lifts correct?

Go to solution Solved by Mark P,

Here's a picture from 1457. It's from  "Hesperis" - a fantastical biography of the Italian nobleman Sigismond Malatesta.

The mainyard has been lowered. I had a look at the lifts; this is one of the few contemporary pictures that shows them in any detail. At first glance it looks very good. The lift goes from the outer end of the yard to a double-sheaved block (sister block) hanging from the masthead, and back down to the yardarm, plus the upper sheave has a rope passing from the masthead and back up again. But though I'm no rigging expert (that's for sure!) it seems to me that the artist has got it wrong - surely it can't work like that. The rope passing through the lower sheave doesn't seem to do anything - it's got no "fall" - nothing to pull on to adjust it. And the same applies to the rope going through the upper sheave - where are the "falls"? I suppose they might be among those vertical ropes coming down from the masthead.

But why have lower sheave in the sister block, with two fixing points on the yardarm? To reduce the forces involved, or possibly even them out? I dunno.

image.png.3f8ce229519c79d2f46c1c8ec79a3775.png 

Any advice or explanation would be greatly appreciated.

Steven

Edited by Louie da fly

OTOH, this detail from the Tavola Strozzi of 1465 shows lifts which seem to have a similar arrangement (if that's a rope going through a lower sheave - I can definitely see two lines there).

image.png.0b680acd1e4ba1669bd7fd6c5685f669.png

I have zero knowledge about the rigging of the yard, but there is a notable presentation in the picture in post #2.   I am not sure if the picture is not the first one from the time that I have seen where the forecastle has a deck that is horizontal enough for a human (and not a chameleon) to stand on and do something other than hold on for dear life. 

The camber in those old pictures is usually absurd.