Tackling the copper sheathing weathering on French Ironclad

Hi all! Wanted to ask if today we have a consensus on how to accurately depict weathered (few years?) copper sheathing on the ships bottom.

For a project (a French ironclad frigate) I need to get some very basic things right, and Im not good with chemistry, so perhaps you can help me.

The ships bottom is sheathed in copper. The ship is shown weathered, and it is important to get right the demarcation between how copper looks below water, and how it looks up on the hull above water.

Would this be a rather good reference point (copper above with some bleed in green) and very light green below water:

In a way, this kind of appearance works well for this photographic evidence of an ironclad Atalante in dry dock where below water she looks light, and above water she is dark.  And yet it is entirely possible what we are looking at is a brown or green upper section, and the part below water is just heavily fowled with barnicles and growth and looks almost white or beige/gray here as they do in real life. Just this lifeless greyish color. Does not have to be green!

resizea2824973.jpg.f2e022ba04f6e863063afff7d186fefd.jpg

Of course, I can make first image BW - result will be very similar to Atalante. 

So dark brown with greenish spots above water, green below water. This image also confirms. Dark above, green below (or at least green where water is).  

Trincomaleehms4.jpg.94da5b367d5e0a6c875fb9a565564870.jpg

So based on the above, is this the right approach - to leave the part of copper sheathing that is above water in darker duller brown, yet for the bit below water one can go same and darker, or if time spent long - more than a year say - go green? Feels accurate right? You kind of end up with red boot topping and green lower hull, very similar to how French painted their ships below water around turn of the 19th century.