Soldering Success.... Finally!

Hope this post isn't a jinx, but... after trying to learn an efficient way for me to do the little soldering I need for these model ships, and being terrible at many different attempts and methods, I think... I hope.... that I have found a method and combination of materials that have (so far) been working very well for me.

Having no previous history in soldering before my venture into model shipbuilding a few years ago, I have been a complete novice at this, and have read through multiple "how-to" websites and videos on recommendations for everything from equipment to technique.  I have tried resistance soldering, silver soldering, purchased various setups and tools, and nothing has really been working well for this old man!

Had to share the fact that I think I've finally hit the right combination of equipment and technique.  I am using a Weller WE1010 soldering station with soldering iron.  After some good swipes with some sandpaper at the solder spot to clean and prep it, I am using Nokorode Regular Paste Flux and applying just little dabs on my small brass rods and brass strips (all the materials I've needed to solder so far) and touching just a bit of Alpha Fry 4 oz. 60/40 rosin core solder on the location, and... boom... success!  May be trivial to many, but had to share! 👍

Gregg

Current Projects:                                                     Completed Projects:                                                                 Waiting for Shipyard Clearance:

Bluenose 1921 1:64 - Model Shipways                   Norwegian Sailing Pram 1:12 - Model Shipways                    Yacht America Schooner 1851 1:64 - Model Shipways

Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack 1:24 - Model Shipways        RMS Titanic 1:300 - OcCre  (Couldn't help myself when it was on sale)

H.M. Schooner Ballahoo 1:64 - Caldercraft                             USS Constitution  1:76 - Model Shipways

Santa Maria Caravelle 1:48 - Ships of Pavel Nikitin