Hello from Loveland, CO

I am in my first year of ship building. I came about it as a challenge from my 85 year-old neighbor, Tom.  His sister is unmarried and a hoarder. A few years ago she was diagnosed with Alzheimer's and had to be placed in a memory care facility. While cleaning out her five storage units of stuff, Tom came across two ship kits. Knowing I always had a jigsaw puzzle on the table, he thought I might like to try a different sort of "puzzle". I have always been a modeler of sorts. In the sixties, I was into plastic car kits. After college, I started a model railroad that I worked on 30+ years in various locations and sizes. I also have a 1949 Willys Jeep that I have owned for almost 35 years and did a frame-off restoration that took two and a half years. After retiring to Colorado seven years ago, we downsized house-wise so there was no room for trains. I still have my Jeep but was looking for something I could do in the winter months. The gift of the ship kits was perfect.

I have always enjoyed working under the big magnifying glass while assembling and painting model scenes. I had no clue about ship building so started watching a ton of YouTube videos before I started. Tom gave me two unopened kits, Artesania Latina's Victory and Mamoli's Constitution.  I have no way of knowing how old the kits are. The Victory had a. price of $89.95 and the Constitution was $129.95. There are copyright dates in the instructions from the 1980's.