Elizabeth Howard by Jond - 1:48 - The White Ghost - Schooner

Posted (edited)

1 The beginning   

This part of a build tends to take the longest time.  I have been mulling over modeling this schooner for at least 5 years.  Where to begin?   My introduction to her was seeing two pictures at our local Boothbay Region Historical Society. One view was of her launch and a second of an accident later in the same home harbor. 

• 1     EH01-01EBWF0612.thumb.jpg.8f284099b5d2922353609f5550959343.jpg launch day

• 2   EH01-02EBFA003-01.thumb.jpg.b9066e691ca9d8822c0ef931c7d673a2.jpg oops inexperienced crew perhaps better said " from away" anchored over a ledge, and we have 10-foot tide.  

The story and other images are in our local newspaper as a history article.   It was January 1919, and she was full of fish.  They pumped her out, took her to town, unloaded the fish, and raised her on the railway.   All was well so then back to work. She was more of a hauler of mackerel than a fisherman in those days. 

Having recently completed my big Bluenose I moved onto other builds.   Then a few years later I learned about her racing history….wow and from Maine too!

• 3.    EH01-03elizhowardwinningliptoncup1923facebook.thumb.jpg.aa22d29b6e7561d07beb6e96f8128a85.jpg great view as she completed the Lipton Cup race in 1923 with Ben Pine at the wheel. this image came from Facebook site for the Fisherman Festival in Gloucester