Historical plans via CAD to laser cut parts - Practicum

Hello all,

For the past months, I have been dabbling in 2D CAD design. The grand aim is to be able to take the historical plans from the Danish National Archive and make a scratch built model from those.

However, i am a CAD novice and have also only had my laser cutter for half a years time, so there is bound to be a steep learning curve on both of these components! 

Instead of going all out on a limb whenever I attempt my first scratch build (not before my current Christiania build based on VM's HMS Sphinx kit is done), I decided to make some trials. This thread will be about those, and my hope is to test out what works and what doesnt before I really dive into scratch building (a good while yet, still early days for Christiania!). 

I have already made 4 small test projects over the past months and the first posts here will be about those.

I hope to get some feedback from this great forum, so that I may be ready to start building when my current build is done.

More to follow soon, with my first attempts!

BR

TJM

Edited by TJM

23 minutes ago, Gregory said:

What CAD software will you be using?

I forgot to mention!