17th Century Shallop by ryesbeemer

This is my first attempt at scratch building, having kit-bashed a number of models. I work as a Museum Guide at Plimoth Plantation, which includes Mayflower II. During the off-season, I work in the Marine shop, doing routine yearly maintenance. As such, I have access to the Mayflower as well as her shallop. I will be using plans by William Baker, the original Naval Architect of the Mayflower II in 1955. The scale is 1/24.

The vessel was a 33 foot work boat that could be rowed or sailed and was common in the17th century. The Pilgrims cut the vessel into four pieces and stowed them on the orlop deck, where the passengers lived. Upon arrival in Provincetown, the shallop was re-assembled and used to explore the inner arm of Cape Cod, eventually landing in Plimoth.

The pics show the plans and a building board. In the background is the almost finished mast.

At this point I'm waiting on wood from HobbyMill, due at the end of the month, so, that's all for now!

post-4884-0-24325100-1390162010_thumb.jpg

post-4884-0-69935400-1390162025_thumb.jpg

post-4884-0-65235300-1390162046_thumb.jpg

post-4884-0-49442400-1390162069_thumb.jpg

post-4884-0-85251100-1390162105_thumb.jpg

post-4884-0-93589400-1390162159_thumb.jpg

post-4884-0-39076100-1390165479_thumb.jpg

Rick

I'll follow your log. I like those small boats.

Regards Christian

Current build: HM Cutter Alert, 1777; HM Sloop Fly, 1776 - 1/36

On the drawing board: English Ship Sloops Fly, 1776, Comet, 1783 and Aetna, 1776; Naval Cutter Alert, 1777

Paused: HMS Triton, 1771 - 1/48

"Have no fear of perfection - you'll never reach it." Salvador Dali

Yes, welcome to the darkside.  With such fine drawings you should have fun building this lovely lapstreak boat.

Bob

Every build is a learning experience.

Current build:  SS_ Mariefred

Completed builds:  US Coast Guard Pequot   Friendship-sloop,  Schooner Lettie-G.-Howard,   Spray,   Grand-Banks-dory