Second Layer Planking Guide

Hi,

I'm a novice modeler who is trying to build Gretel Yacht at the moment.  I'm about to finish the first layer planking already. My question is, how will I plank the second layer?  How will I stabilize them on top of the first layer planks as the glue dries? Should I pin them? I don't think the pin holes will look good afterwards.

Also, I'm concerned that the second layer planks are very thin (0.5 mm). I should not spill excess glue on the planks, they will look really bad. I've read the planking guides on thie site but I couldn't see proper visual guide for this second layer planking. If you can lead me to an article, I would appreciate very much.

Thanks,

Baris.

The second is no different than the first.  I recommend lining off your hull as mentioned in several of the online articles here.  Then shaping and spiling your planks to suit.  That is truly the only way to do it properly.  I would also add that using only the kit supplied planks might be a problem as you may have to cut your shaped planks from wider sheets of wood.

Chuck

Baris:
I agree with Chuck about the proper way to plank. I would definitely recommend those planking guides that Chuck linked to. I also realize that you are probably wanting to work within the confines of the kit.

Those kit supplied planking strips will work, you will just have to cut them to fit and let them lay on the first layer as naturally as possible. It is not how the boat was actually planked, but it will get the job done and look nice if done with care.

You can use pins to hold your second layer planks in place, but pin into the first layer and let the cap of the pin hold down the second layer plank. That way there will be no unsightly holes in the finished planking.