I have used a spokeshave for a lot of curved work, I would suggest that a small block plane would be an easier tool for the shaping of the spars for the general rounding or for creating an octagonal cross section, with the exception of creating an octagonal or flat that is scalloped from the round section of the spar, in which case I would use the round spokeshave not the flat one.

Michael

Edited by michael mott

Current builds  Bristol Pilot Cutter 1:8;      Skipjack 19 foot Launch 1:8;       Herreshoff Buzzards Bay 14 1:8

Other projects  Pilot Cutter 1:500 ;   Maria, 1:2  Now just a memory    

Future model Gill Smith Catboat Pauline 1:8

Finished projects  A Bassett Lowke steamship Albertic 1:100  

Anything you can imagine is possible, when you put your mind to it.

Using a spokeshave takes practice and it has to be sharp.  I am not that good with them so I use my finger plane.  However, for larger objects once you learn how to use one you may never look back.

David B

What is a spokeshave? May you post a photo, please?

EDIT: NVM... found it.

Edited by Ulises Victoria

There aren't but two options: do it FAST, or do it RIGHT.

Current Project Build Log: Soleil Royal in 1/72. Kit by Artesania Latina.

Last finished projectsRoyal Ship Vasa 1628; French Vessel Royal Louis 1780. 1/90 Scale by Mamoli. 120 Cannons

Future projects already in my stash: Panart: San Felipe 1/75; OcCre: Santísima Trinidad 1/90;

Wish List: 1/64 Amati Victory, HMS Enterprise in 1/48 by CAF models.

So much to build, so little time!

I tried to use one to taper masts too but found it too difficult to (1) hold the stock and (2) stay even.  I use it sometimes for trimming frames and things like that but I taper masts and spars with an electric drill.

Tom

Current: Sergal Sovereign of the Seas

Previous builds:  AL Swift, AL King of the Mississippi, Mamoli Roter Lowe, Amati Chinese Junk, Caesar, Mamoli USS Constitution, Mantua HMS Victory, Panart San Felipe, Mantua Sergal Soleil Royal