hello from Reynella south aust

well found your site quite by accident and browsed it and liked what i saw , this looks like the right place for me as i would like to try my hand at building a boat, ship or a like from a plan however i need advise as a newbie to the hobby with reasonable skills.

i hope you are all friendly and i do apologize in advance for asking silly questions that might already have been covered but could not find due to lack of asking it the wrong way in the search box .

hope to talk with you all soon Richard

Welcome Richard. This is a great place to learn. I have been building ships for twenty years and my skills have done nothing but multiply from the skills demonstrated on this site. You will get fabulous advice from some of the best in the world and not a prima donna in the group.

Regards,

Jim Rogers

Damn the Torpedoes , Full speed ahead.   Adm David Farragut.

Welcome aboard Richard; lots of helpful advice both in the forum and in the articles database.  Look forward to seeing your work.

cheers

Pat

If at first you do not suceed, try, and then try again!
Current build: HMCSS Victoria (Scratch)

Next build: HMAS Vampire (3D printed resin, scratch 1:350)

Built:          Battle Station (Scratch) and HM Bark Endeavour 1768 (kit 1:64)

:sign:

Derek C

A man without a goal is like a ship without a rudder --Thomas Carlyle

Current Build

18th Century Whaling Vessel "Lagoda"

Finished Builds

Triton Cross Section by Derek C 1/48 

18th century longboat by Slideways - FINISHED - Model Shipways

18th century longboat by sideways from MS plans

Welcome to MSW, 
Richard.  

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section