By way of introduction

robert952

Greetings,

I just joined this past weekend as result of the last printing of Ships In Scale.  A big thank you for the copy of the NRJ that was sent to SIS  subscribers.  I read the accompanying letter and plans of the Journal.  I am glad to see the commitment to beginner modelers.  I may be more intermediate...I don't know the 'qualifications' that define these categories.  However, I am sure I will benefit from associating with this group.  

By profession, I am a technical trainer for an global manufacturer.  But I can see the light at the end of my career tunnel is not an oncoming train.  I plan on retiring (next year) after what will be 47 years in the work force (and for the same company).  As preparation for retirement, I decided one of my hobbies will include building models (along with gardening and 3D CGI art).  So, I have been buying models, building (IMHO) a decent library around things nautical, and learning some new skills.  (I have a few cars, a couple of military models and such in the collection, but my direction will be towards wooden ship models.)

As for my model ship history?  As a young child, my dad and I built various models (car, planes and ships).  My favorite was Revell's USS Missouri - mainly because of the impressive detail (for a 10-year-old) in that model.  I moved the completed model with the family and the model survived until my brother took one of my jet plane models and performed a kamikaze attack.  Another copy of that model is in my closet to be built again because, in part, those memories.  Also, because I toured the ship now berthed at Pearl Harbor.  (She is an impressive lady.)