Monitor and Merrimack by robert952 - FINISHED - Metal Earth - 1:370 and 1:393

As I write this, contractors work downstairs doing a kitchen and living room renovation.  Since I have to stay out of the way, I decided to work on a model. 

This is my first build log.  I intended to use another model for that.  However, we some times have to go with the flow. This will let me get my feet wet in the process of logs. 

I have an unconventional workspace for this project since so much stuff is in storage during the reno work.  I am working on an end table while sitting on the floor or bent over from a chair.  I find it hard to work on the model for very long. However, the steps are relatively short.

The model I chose comes from Metal Earth (Link).  They produce models of many items, genres, and scales.  They have a few ship models in their portfolio. image.jpeg.930f5a72ac6ca485d0cfaf68e7e77e67.jpeg

When I bought the kit that includes the Monitor and the Merrimack, I thought the model an interesting interpretation and concept.  The number of tools needed for their models is minimal: cutters, needle nosed pliers, and tweezers.  Add in some form of work magnifier and good lighting.  And while the packaging says, “no glue required,” the key word is ‘required’ but with a caveat.  (More on this later.)

That answers the question, why this model at this time, which is good question to ask yourself before a building project.  Additionally, I had assembled a previous model (Golden Hind) from Metal Earth.  That process went well with decent results.  I also want to point out that while the models have a sense of authenticity, I am building it for display over historical accuracy.

As a point of interest to some: I paid $25.00 (US) at a game/hobby shop for this model of the Monitor and Merrimac. 

As I start posting I am up to step 9 of 29 steps outlined in the instructions.  So, I will have some hindsight and previews of upcoming parts.