Swift 1805 by Jim in KC - Artesania Latina - 1:50 scale - first wooden ship build - Virginia Pilot Boat

The Swift is my first wooden boat build, so I’m a newbie.  I appreciate any suggestions, advice or input from you more experienced builders. 

I used to build plastic and wood aircraft models as a kid, but that was more than 50 years ago.  Now that I’m retired, I have really been looking forward to building models again, particularly ship models. I’m hoping I can maintain my enthusiasm through the trials and tribulations ahead.

When I first opened the box I noticed that the false keel was warped.  I know for my reading (the kit directions, “Ship Modeling Simplified,” by Frank Mastini, and various articles in this forum) that it is essential to get the false keel and bulkheads perfectly aligned.  So I posted questions on the Building, Framing and Planking forum about this issue, and got some good advice.

Mtaylor suggested just cutting a new false keel, and both he and michael101 talked about inserting spacers between the bulkheads and clamping them to straighten out the keel. The more I looked at the false keel, the more I realized that the most obvious warps were right on the bulkhead cut lines. See attached pictures. So in the end I ordered some plywood of the same thickness and I have now cut the new false keel. It’s quite straight and I’m quite happy with it. I have begun fitting (but not gluing) the bulkheads.

Obviously I’m just getting started. I really appreciate the availability of these forums because I’m convinced I’m going to need lots of advice.

IMG_0381.jpg

IMG_0400.jpg

IMG_0401.jpg

IMG_0402.jpg

Jim,

I have been building wooden ship models for at least 60 years and I still find times I need lots of advice!