Picket Boat #1 by John Gummersall - FINISHED - Model Shipways - Scale 1:24

Just starting up the USN Picket Boat build...  I just completed the J Class (1:80 scale) racing yacht and anxious to get started on the Picket.    I am by no means an expert builder and from what I can tell the instructions for the Picket are sketchy at best, but with the excellent logs I have been reading on other Picket builds, I think I should be OK.    Famous last words,,,   

One word of warning,,,,, this will be a painfully slow log to follow.  I know most people hate slow logs.   I am not a full time modeler so I only get to work on it when I have some spare time.     While I plan to complete the Picket, it will not be at a very fast pace.    We will see how it goes.

Edited by John Gummersall

By reading the other Picket Boat build logs, you will do just fine.  I look forward to following your build.

Ryland

Member - Hampton Roads Ship Model Society

- Ship Model Society of New Jersey

- Nautical Research Guild

Current Build - Armed Virginia Sloop, 18th Century Longboat

Completed Build - Medway Longboat

Ryland,

glad to have you aboard....i have been looking forward to the Picket for some time.  Here we go...

First the box contents.   I know others include it, but I always like to see it in a log.  To me viewing other logs is how I determine what ship to build, and it frustrates me when I am looking for a new build and I have to look at several logs (that do not have the contents) to see the contents.

Cover.thumb.jpg.bec450ed6f14ee6649bae65dd7f8447b.jpgContents_1.thumb.jpg.d3aef374502d9cbf7f16335feaa2f9a1.jpgContents_2.thumb.jpg.b2a78c73137d116aad40bcfcef4a73f8.jpgContents_3.thumb.jpg.6c31e32b36f1ac9a9055dcaf484b2756.jpgContents_4.thumb.jpg.372a7a8fbbbe18eca51b21ee938da10a.jpg