Another Novice

BrownBeard

Hi Y’all- new concert from plastic kits here. I’m enjoying the 18th Century Longboat by Model Shipways right now. It’s got me thinking about build #2-  any suggestions?  I’m a newbie so no triple deckers!!  I’m hoping to find a good model suggestion and a build log to follow!

thanks everyone- I hope to find some success with wood ship modeling!

Welcome! How far along into the longboat are you (a current picture perhaps)? 

Any particular style of ship interest you (cannons/no cannons, sailboat/work boat, era, etc)? I’m currently building the HM Alert from Vanguard (it’s my first planked ship) and Blue Ensign’s build log on it has really helped me.  

BB, welcome to MSW where the fire is warm, the coffee's hot with friendly conversation and spectacular build logs that'll take your breath away......enjoy yourself. 

Hi Brownbeard,

The best place to look is here

This has been assembled to give new people plenty of choice, of models that are relatively easy to build and have clear instructions. Have a look through and see what attracts you.

And when it comes to starting a build log, have a look here:

Have fun with it!

Hey Kieth- I’m just getting the interior details put in. A lot of mistakes, but I have learned from each one!  What a blast it’s been!  I’ll try to attach a picture from early on.  

I have worked on plastic kits, but never wood, there is quite a difference!  I’ll put a picture of a plastic kit in too. 

860A1154-B960-4612-BFC9-FF4DC2393018.jpeg

ABC73723-22CD-444C-B3AB-5B2F6DB2C5D0.jpeg

Welcome!  The longboat is a great start.  Louie da fly linked a great place to start dreaming of the next project (which we all do)

Welcome, Brownbread. Judging from the pic of your armour, you know how to build models so we look forward to seeing more of your longboat.

Regards,

Bruce

🌻

STAY SAFE

A model shipwright and an amateur historian are heads & tails of the same coin

current builds: