Introduction. Better late than never.

Dlowder

I've been meaning to do this for a while now, but I keep saying, "Just let me read a few more posts first..." and the next thing you know it's bedtime.
I am a recently retired college librarian in a small town in South Georgia. The state not the country. Like most people I built models a lot when I was younger but slowly life started getting in the way. I tinkered a bit off and on but never had a time or space to do much. I acquired numerous kits over the years and since I retired this summer I can start working on my cache. I think I may have waited too long to have time to build them all.
I've always loved ships, so I have sailing ships, steel ships, one airship and some space ships - real space and SF. I'm a sucker for a good sale.

The only airplane I have is a B-24J since my dad was in the Signal Corps in the Army Air Force and handled Azon bombs in the CBI theater in WWII. They were early radio guided smart bombs.
My last wood model was a 1/100 scale Constructo Santa Maria. I didn't think it looked correct for the period but it was small enough to work on in the space that I had. I work on a 2ft. x 4ft. folding table in the spare bedroom with hand tools. I have workshop envy.
I started on the Corel HMS Victory Cross Section. I quickly found out it needed a lot of improvement, so I've spent some time researching. I stripped it back down and started back but stopped again to do more research. Luckily, I still have privileges at my old library. Interlibrary loan is fantastic.
I've got an old Billing Boats Mayflower kit that I started about 20 years and need to get back to. I'm at the stage where I need to start bending planks. I have joined the Nautical Research Guild and I’m thinking about doing the Half Hull project before I get back to this one.
Last year I picked up the Model Shipways Confederacy since it was a the best price I had seen in a very long time.