Chaperon by John Gummersall - Model Shipways - Scale 1:48

Just completed the Secret Vessel "Morel".  What I call a "quick win" as it only took a couple months to complete.  For those of you who have not seen the Morel model, I recommend you check it out.   It is a quirky little model that is easy to build but looks really neat.   And a definite break from the usual year long builds of most models.

Anyway, Now it is time to put my "big boy pants on" and take on the Chaperon. 

I am by no means an expert builder - average at best, but as they say - the journey is the destination.   And I do enjoy the journey ..... or the build in this case.

I would like to say thanks to all who have built, and supplied excellent build logs, that have gone before me with the Chaperon model.   There have been some excellent Chaperon builds - I would say museum quality.  I will be shamelessly borrowing (stealing) some of the best ideas from those logs as I build my model.   I am still too new at building models to have many original ideas of my own.    My build will by no means compare to those who have gone before me, but I will have fun.   

With that in mind I will start right in with the unboxing....  Most people can just skip over this section unless you really are interested in the box contents.

PXL_20220324_220002744.thumb.jpg.4656269addd2d160b795d5323f0e6bb4.jpg

There are 27 sheets of laser cut basswood.

PXL_20220324_220643349.thumb.jpg.b9802dbce69b26c7ba77064ca45dfe24.jpg

Note on this sheet and others some of the boards have lines etched in them...  With this model they are to simulate planking.    Not sure if my model is odd or not, but to me those lines seem very thin (faint).   They look like after a coat of primer and paint they would be completely filled in.    We will see what happens when I get to that stage, but right off the bat this model may get (shall we say) "interesting".

PXL_20220324_220755893.thumb.jpg.4c37f9ba011f9a85640ad5302a6bb2fd.jpg