San Juan Felucca by PostCaptainAubrey - OcCre - 1:70 - First Build!

Hello Everyone!

I've laid the keel on my first venture into model wooden shipbuilding - the San Juan from OcCre.  I'm going to have about two months off this coming summer as I make a transition in my career, so I thought this would be a great way to fill my time.  I wanted to go ahead and order a beginner's kit to start now in the hopes that I could build some skills and ultimately tackle a ship somewhat more profound this summer during my time off.  We shall see how I handle the San Juan build, however!  

Being a novice, I plan to stay exactly on plan, barring any unforeseen circumstances.  There don't seem to be many build logs for this specific kit, though it is supposed to be geared towards beginners, so that may be why.  VictorBXM has some great videos in his build log, and am grateful for the first 4 videos and their guidance they've provided so far.  As I build, I will probably type up my questions on best practices, etc.  Any feedback is appreciated with thanks. 

On to the actual build: 

• My workspace is a converted at-home office with a decently sized desk.  The desk itself is very uneven...I ordered a cutting board to assist with this.  Gotta start somewhere!
  • I ordered some tools off the OcCre website, but so far they have proven somewhat mediocre.  Cutting the pieces out of the balsa framework was much more difficult than I would have thought, and can only assume the difficulty was due to the knife from the toolset.  In the process, I broke the tip of the knife off (I have ordered a new set of knives which I think will be higher quality).  You can see some photos of the tools below, including the chipped knife.  One item I was unsure of, but I believe to be a sort of drill, you can see included in the picture of the kit.  If I am correct that it is a drill, there doesn't seem to be a way to rotate the drill head that I've been able to figure out.