Bowdoin by Mjohn - FINISHED - BlueJacket Shipcrafters - 1:48

Hi, I’m mjohn.   I live in the Pacific Northwest, and have been a fan of wooden boats and yachts for many years.  I have built a full-sized drift boat from plans as well as a ½ size traditionally built lapstrake dinghy (Acorn  converted from glued lap to traditional), which I have turned into a coffee table, and a quarter size Shellback dinghy. 

Over the years I have built a some model airplanes and even a few model boats.   But I am far from an expert model builder, and this is my first complicated planked model.  Several years ago I built the planked hull catboat from BlueJacket.   I anticipate the catboat hull to have been much simpler to plank than Bowdoin because the hull shape did not have the big reversal that Bowdoin has below the water line.  Also, the rigging on Bowdoin is much more complex than I have tackled before.     But I’m really doing this for the fun of it, so we’ll count any mistakes as part of the learning process.

Thanks to some of the prior build logs for pointing out areas I will need to pay attention to.  And thanks to BlueJacket for the kit.

This is also my test post

Here is my picture post test.

Here is a shot of gluing up the backbone and a follow-up of the bulkhead/molds ready for installation.  So far the kit is of great quality.  The laser cut parts are well cut and very accurate.   Parts go together with minimal fuss and fit.  For much of the model I anticipate using CA glue.   I use a combination of thick, 30 second CA and thin CA.   When I can I like to just wick the thin glue into joints.

Backbone.jpg.fb7f4f3815ebd4a9a307d9a36cd75608.jpg1654634053_Bowdoinbackboneandbulkheads.jpg.970072d6e2f440001e2733a4acceb260.jpg