Chinese Pirate Junk by Loracs - FINISHED - Amati - 1:100 (Completed)

Hello, I'm Loracs. I'm new to model wooden ship building. The Chinese Pirate Junk was my introduction. I wanted to see if I had the interest, patience and skills in the hobby. I must say that I'm completely hooked.  I discovered Model Ship World late while building the kit. A fantastic resource for both the amateur and the expert.  

I used it so much that I decided to participate by posting my build log and pictures. It's been retro-active since I completed the ship today.  But hey! better late than never. My reasoning is that it may be useful for someone in the future.  If it help... fantastic!  I will post progressively as I sort my pictures.

One last note: I welcome comments and criticism.  If you see areas of improvement, better techniques that could have been used, or how to be more historically accurate... write it here.  This is the only way I can improve. it won't be for this build but the next one will be better. I posted it to be open.

Here it is...

Completed Build: Chinese Pirate Junk

Current Build: HMS Revenge

Building the frame...  was straightforward.  The mistake I made here was to clean-up the side portion with a Dremel 3000.  It just removes too much material, which I will pay a little later in the build.  Conclusion: Amati laser cuts are great...  be very gentle in removing the charring.

image.thumb.jpeg.feff98034f904793627da28687cf4e43.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.4498ab867f73c7689f3198b727965cf6.jpeg

Edited by Loracs

Planking the hull.

In preparation for hull planking, the edges of the frames were beveled to allow for good contact with the wood strips.  Again, I may have overdone it a little... but contact was good.  I started at the deck level and "planked" my way down slowly, allowing the wood strips to follow the hull without forcing them.  I started tapering when I reached the bottom.