Perseverance 1807 by Rodr - Modellers Shipyard - Scale 1:48 - Colonial Brig - first build

This is my second attempt at a wooden model ship after failing miserably several years ago - basically as I had no idea what I was doing and the kit I attempted had very poor instructions.

I chose the Colonial Brig Perseverance for two reasons:

1. According to the guys at Modellers Shipyard, it's not too complex and ideal for a beginner, and
  2. It comes with a 3 DVD set showing a "master model maker" construction the model from start to finish.

This really appealed to me as at the time I began, I had not discovered Model Ship World and really needed some guidance.

Here is the DVD cover and a photo of the completed model (not mine!)

post-9421-0-55928200-1390899594.jpg

post-9421-0-46377400-1390899898.jpg

As I am a new modeler its difficult for me to comment on the quality of the kit although the timber certainly does not seem to be as high quality as the timber in the Corel Unicorn kit that I started some time ago.  The limewood planking varied considerably in thickness meaning a lot of sanding on the first layer of planking but I don't know if this the norm or not.  Also, the silver ash deck planking varied considerably in width with some pieces 3mm, some 4mm and some 5mm wide.  Again, is this generally normal or not for a kit????

Unfortunately I started the model before I discovered MSW and therefore I don't have any photos of the early stages of construction.  I bought myself an Amati keel holder which has been very helpful. 

The bulkheads all fitted nicely to the keel and the fairing process although it seemed to take forever went smoothly.

Fitting the false deck also was a breeze.