HMS Racehorse by Sergal...double planking...

Hi everyone. This is my first attempt at planking this way so I've been doing lots of reading and trying to figure out the best way to approach the challenge and it's left me confused. Hopefully someone can help.

The plans show to lay the first plank at the top and to work down towards the bottom. The first 4 planks are full length and then the 5th is supposed to curve up into the 4th plank. It says to lay each plank against the frames and let the lay of the plank guide me where to trim each plank. But online tutorials show to split the hull into bands and use tick strips. I don't know which way to go. Is the method shown in the instructions an accurate way to plank or should I ignore it and use bands and tick strips? The planks included in the pack are 3x1mm basswood and 3x0.5mm walnut for the second layer.

I've attached a photo of the planking layout shown on the plans and a couple of pictures of where I'm at so far.

thanks in advance

Kev

post-13477-0-02861700-1402223214_thumb.jpg

post-13477-0-60864200-1402223217_thumb.jpg

post-13477-0-29477400-1402223219_thumb.jpg

Kev,

Basically, it's your choice on how you plank it.  The tutorials here on MSW will give a more historically correct planking.  The kit plans.. well, it is a kit.  Kit are not necessarily correct historically.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever: