Beginner question re: building board vs. keel clamp

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner who will be starting his first build in a few days, and I have an elementary question about how to best manage my keel while forming the bulkheads. I'm aware that a building board/clamps will yield the proper results, but in the kit I will be building (The Gjøa - Constructo) the keel appears to be totally flush with the bulkheads during fitting/forming. I've attached a photo below from a log found on another forum. Again: my concern is that I won't be able to fit the bulkheads properly while keeping the form true in a typical board/groove set up (because the groove will interfere with the bottom of the bulkheads).

I am considering a DIY keel clamp, but since everything is flush along the keel I will need to separate the clamping pressure. Will this be adequate to prevent the bulkhead former/keel from warping as I glue?

I apologize if my terminology is inaccurate, or if my dilemma is premature. I am an absolute beginner, and hoping to get some thoughts on what the best course of action likely is. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Simon

post-17198-0-99349400-1420570841_thumb.jpg

I have never seen this kit, so I may be off base here, but surely there's some sort of keel piece that gets glued to the bottom? And I'd guess there's a stem piece as well? Maybe they don't get glued on until after you plank the hull (that would seem unusual to me) but if that's the case, perhaps you could attach the keel piece with screws while you're gluing up the bulkhead? If there is no separate keel piece (or even if there is and you just don't want to drill holes in it), then how about making one that, again, you could temporarily attach to the bottom just long enough to glue up the bulkheads?

Hope that helps -

John