Diana by chriswi - OcCre

Hi everyone, 

This is my first build log but third ship I've tackled. I started this ship about a year ago and due to the hot weather here in the Phoenix area it makes it hard to work on it year around, so in the summer I have to move from the garage into my office (office has great A/C) so I'am very limited to what I can do.

I had a lot more pictures of the build in its earlier stages but when I got my new phone some pictures were lost lost during the data transfer.🙁

So, I'am hoping everyone will enjoy.

20190427_210545.jpg

20190501_200848.jpg

20190503_202407.jpg

Need some help or ideas.

I've been contemplating this step for a couple weeks now and have yet to come up with a good solution, the brass widows and decorations need to be glued to the transom, I only get one shot at this and as everyone knows if it doesn't go well it's gonna look horrible. I'am not sure what type of glue to use, CA could make a big mess of things and I know contact cement is not a good glue for brass. any suggestions will be very appreciated.

20190923_080555.jpg

I agree with Steve - I would use two-part epoxy.  The five-minute type would be my choice.

A couple of points:  when you clamp the piece to the hull you'll find that the wet epoxy is pretty slippery and the piece may want to slide while you're clamping it.  Also, the epoxy will tend to run and ooze out of the small holes.  This can be cleaned up while it's still wet by washing the unwanted epoxy off with a brush dipped in 90% isopropyl alcohol.  You need to make sure you get the unwanted epoxy off before it has cured - after it's cured you'd have to grind it off.

Chris - like doing anything for the first time I'd use some scrap pieces for testing until you get familiar with using the epoxy.  Epoxy is super strong when cured, so you won't need to use a lot of it.  And you're always welcome to come over so we can play around with the epoxy before you put it on your model.