Poly over acrylic paint????

Dave

I apply poly over acrylic paint without issue. It doesn't seem to matter how dry an acrylic painted surface is, if it hasn't been sealed you'll get some paint removal with a wet Q-tip. Painting is too tedious a job not to lock it in once done.

Keith

One note.

Above I said I applied poly over acrylic paint without issue. That's not exactly correct. When poly is applied over white acrylic, it yellows. I've only ever tried Minwax polyurethane so I have no knowledge about other poly manufactures. Minwax says their product dries crystal clear, it doesn't dry crystal clear. Obviously this isn't a problem with black or a yellow acrylic but I can't help but believe that the same doesn't hold true for all lighter shades of acrylic paint. 

Edited by Keith Black

I would always be very hesitant to mix two paint systems. You may be lucky, but it can also spell desaster, depending on what the products actually are made of.

Why would you want to put varnish over a painted surface. I would carefully reflect on the reason. Perhaps, acrylic paint isn't the right paint for the job, if you think you need to further protect it. Perhaps you should use a different paint system - there are also many different acrylics-based paint systems.

Depending on the type of model, I personally also like the different sheens of different paints for different parts. A real ship would not be all over glossy or matt or satin.

wefalck

panta rhei - Everything is in flux

M-et-M-72.jpg  Banner-AKHS-72.jpg  Banner-AAMM-72.jpg  ImagoOrbis-72.jpg

18 minutes ago, wefalck said:

I would always be very hesitant to mix two paint systems.