HMS Victory by mispeltyoof - Panart - Scale 1:78

Begun my Panart HMS VICTORY. This is the kit with the boats and copper tiles. First reactions that the kit contents are high quality with straight ,unblemished wood. The instructions and plans are minimal. If I cut out the English instructions and glued them on to sheets would only just about cover two A4 sheets. This us my fourth wooden build and although sellers say beginners could attempt this kit I would doubt it. I have had to stare at the simple plans (only two sheets cover the whole hull build) for days to try to understand what to do. However ,eventually could figure it out(only because I'm not a novice.
Downloaded Caldecraft's instructions which help a little .Moving on to bevelling  the bulwarks before thinking about initial planking. My instructions say virtually nothing and don't mention bevelling etc as does Caldecraft's but my initial look suggests that the bulwarks don't need excessive shaping but will spend as much time as needed to get this crucial stage as perfect as possible.

81571568_238831773771911_3862081841498423296_n.jpg

81615007_238831807105241_8474091889438490624_n.jpg

Decks fitted and planked and cabins ,ships wheel and ropes fitted and top of poop deck installed. Now need to sand and bevel bulwarks and where deck meets bulwarks before thinking about planking. This is likely to take a long time. Have decided to plank in smaller lengths rather than wrestle with full lengths. Waiting for Amazon to deliver planking clamps and electric plank bender  before contemplating the actual first planking.