Hello from mid-Wales (UK)

Hello, I’m Antony, living on the edge of Mynydd Epynt in mid-Wales.

The short version of this post is that nearly 50 years ago I built a wooden boat model which was destroyed 5 years later.  Now aged 74 I am about to embark on a repeat of the construction.

The longer version is that I had been making models from my teenage years until my early 30s when life (children, a medical career including periods overseas) got in the way.  My main interest was in aeroplanes (scale, flying or static, pre 1945) and, intermittently, wooden boats - Graupner’s Oseberg ship and Santa Maria.  Then as a student I purchased a Billing kit of one of 5 viking era ships sunk in the Roskilde channel in Denmark (wreck number 3).  The hull was completed in 1971, the decking, the rigging, cargo and steersman soon after.  Soon after that I began my medical residency and it wasn’t until 1974 that I exhibited it at the London Model Engineering Exhibition where it won me a medal!  My next model (a Billing Dutch barge Sperwer) was started but I was never able to devote the time necessary and it languished ‘on the stocks’ until I packed up my home and family and went to work in some remote Central Pacific Islands, surrounded by sea but no modelling!  On my return home some 4 years later I found my prize-winning boat had been smashed beyond repair by the company charged with packing and storing my possessions (a lesson hard learned about protecting the efforts of ones labours).  I was never able to rekindle the enthusiasm and although I always harboured an ambition to build the Viking boat again the kit had been discontinued and I was reconciled to it all being in the past.  In a major downsize some 15 years ago most of my modelling material, and earlier models, were disposed of.

These rather contrasty B/W images are all that remains as evidence of my 1/20 model of Skuldelev Wreck 3.