Douglove

Hi folks,i am new to the hobby.wanted to try this for along time now.ive buildt alot of plastic model ships but never wood.what would a good starter model be.ive had my eye on the model shipways 3 pack,but would like to hear from folks who have the experience. Also what general tools would i need.ty doug

Welcome!

The Model Shipways three pack would be a good start. The older Midwest kits are also good starter projects. Bluejacket also has some beginner level kits. Model Shipways will replace parts you damage.

You probably want some sandpaper of various grits and potentially a metal ruler. Do they have the instructions online? It might be helpful to read through them if possibly and see what is suggested or what might help with certain steps.

Welcome to MSW, Doug.  I hope you'll post an intro in the New Member Introductions area.   As for tools... kits, etc.  Here's a a good starting place to read:    https://thenrg.org/resource/articles

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever:           

CH-53 Sikorsky - 1:48 - Revell - Completed                                                   Licorne - 1755 from Hahn Plans (Scratch) Version 2.0 (Abandoned)         

3 hours ago, Douglove said:

can you think of any other tools i would need.it comes with clamps,knife,tweezers,brushs,and paint.