Help with pieces and parts

Hi all

I am new to model ship-building and have a couple of questions.  I am building the Constructo EMMA Sidmouth 1815.  I started this ship over 20 years ago and once the hull was complete I had to pack it up and store it away as Life (Kids , Work) all got in the way.  Well Kids are grown, I'm now retired, so I set up a table/work station in the basement and pulled the ship back out.  I am very please on the progress.  It is really starting to look very nice but I am at a road block.  I do not know all the names of the ship parts yet but imagine I will be learning them as time goes on.  There is a cannon in the amidship of the deck that sits on a pedestal and rotates 360 degrees.  Can someone please tell what is this cannon is called so i can look it up to help me with the building of it as the instructions from constructo are pretty lame to say the least. 

Also I have tried looking up this ship on google and as far as I can tell there is no documentation of this ship other than from constructo as a model kit.  I have read where not all models are real ships of the past and may be nothing more than a representation of ships of that era.  If this ship was a real ship can someone help me in pointing in the right direction to find out more about it.  Thanks you for any all help. 

I googled the kit, the ship is a balimore clipper, and the gun looks a bit weird to me (as: never saw a gun mounted like this). It looks not like a mortar, those are far heavier, and positioned very low in the hull, and pointed upwards.

this one looks like a relatively small calibre carronade, mounted on some kind of 'raised turning table' to get above the railings.

Jan