HMS Victory by JEFFRAV - Heller - 1/100 - PLASTIC

Hi I joined this forum a few months ago and after reading other ship builds I decided to do one myself. This is my first time doing this and would like any help from other members will be appreciated. I've already stated and I know it is going to take along time.

Hi Jeff, here are various photos of the jigs I knocked up when assembling the cannons about 10 years ago (is it really that long!). These were made with styrene, there's nothing very clever or technical, I just cut and filed to size to hold everything in place. There were two or three lessons learned that I'll mention;

1: after a while, you'll almost inevitably get styrene glue on the jig and it'll get spoiled(-ish)/soft(-ish), so it might be worth making 2 or 3 of each. Or use something other than styrene. Or be better at applying glue than I was 10 years ago 😊

2: I mistakenly thought the carriages would have an inwards camber bottom to top: keep an eye on that, they don't.

3: the quality of moulding is superb; the cannon halves aligned true every time, as did the carriage parts.

I hope this gives you the general idea. I'm sure I'm not alone in saying I'm looking forward to seeing your build develop, the Victory is such an interesting kit to spectate on, and everyone has their own take and way of doing it. 

DSC_0058.jpg.09e53c9db4c9af97b2591d1c39686532.jpgDSC_0057.jpg.b18cf8490dff8c40b0631ca3ac143963.jpgDSC_0056.jpg.f0d2c043e0f87c9d6cf3a03f2247dbbf.jpgDSC_0055.jpg.9c033ff2d282fb94a745753a36037d4c.jpgDSC_0054.jpg.1619e7230b455f60d36dc563b00046b9.jpgDSC_0052.jpg.c2c33281e851ea2a237ae122a944a0b0.jpgDSC_0003.jpg.d839c47369ca877a2365e4cf413866fa.jpgDSC_0002.jpg.2238efb47480a56b5ef45780027e964c.jpg2097127605_cannonjig3.jpg.9149bf37dd78cc11d82031366c9bee9f.jpg608365710_cannonjig2.jpg.909c95f475c3770830630b0f2ef16288.jpg1507292853_cannonjig1.jpg.c088d3d2d65cab5f3d364158e8c855d6.jpgDSC_0059.jpg.c018c451cbe45bdf298feedbeded2ae0.jpg

Current builds: