La Nina by MateuszPL - Artesania Latina - 1:65

Based on the experience of building previous ships, I decided to add the ship's keel and stem at this stage.It's my first time doing it so I don't know if it's a good move. In previous ships, installing them was the most difficult for me. Therefore, this time I want to try this method.

I've already installed the side waterways. Now I will proceed to the initial hull plating. This may take me several days.

IMG20220511203833.thumb.jpg.ce6eb64f01192d44e766be7bca3ed76e.jpgIMG20220511205732.thumb.jpg.2efa2276b232749e9f7656bffe6c6acc.jpgIMG20220511213329.thumb.jpg.76eb0e2dc6cd58eab221d3192df2617a.jpg

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Nice work on your first planking, and filling and sanding should smooth it off well.

However, may I suggest that before you begin second planking, you check out the planking tutorials at https://modelshipworld.com/forum/98-planking-downloads-and-tutorials-and-videos/ - these show you how best to achieve the best planking finish, the way it was done with real ships.

Good work!

Steven 

Please do take Steven's advice above and thoroughly study the planking tutorial by David Antscherl (https://thenrg.org/resource/articles) in the Article data base and Chuck Passaro's 4 part videos on proper planking techniques so at least the second layer looks good.  There is no need to use metal pins, especially on the second layer.   Is there a reason you used pins?

Good luck!

Allan

PLEASE take 30 SECONDS and sign up for the epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series.   Click on http://trafalgar.tv   There is no cost other than the 30 seconds of your time.  THANK YOU

2 hours ago, MateuszPL said:

Why did I use pins? Because the manual said so

No surprise there.   After studying the tutorials you will see that this is totally unnecessary. Sanding and otherwise fairing the hull is difficult at best with hundreds of nails with which you have to contend.

Allan