USS Cairo by Zetec - 1/50 scale

.Hi I live in England and a had an idea that I want to build an ironclad river gunboat so I started to find out some information and plans that was when I came across the build of USS Cairo 1862 by MPB521 I liked the look of this model so much that I thought I would have a go at building one. This is the first time I have tried to build a model with so much wood work it will be a steep learning curve so please be patience with me as I am not very good at writing up and posting pictures of what I am building. I have been modelling for about 15 years and have manly built British Lifeboats and there trailers.

I intend to build the model at a scale of 1 to 50 and build the hull using 5mm plywood for the frames and then clad the bottom and sides in lime wood. And then build the frame of the casemate area and then the top deck and cabins again in lime wood. I want to build the outside of the model first and when this has been built I will go about building and fitting out the inside.

I decided to do it this way as I am not getting any younger and with health problems so if I could not finish it I would at least have a model to look at and may be for someone else to finish off in the future.

Glad to see that I was able to spark an interest in this magnificent boat. I will be following along intently! Best of luck.

-Brian

Current Builds:                                                                                                 Completed Builds:

Mississippi River Towboat Caroline N.                                                    HMB Endeavor: Artesania Latina

USS Constitution - Cross Section: Mamoli

Non-Ship Builds:                                                                                              HMS Victory - Cross Section: Corel

New Shipyard                                                                                             King of the Mississippi - Steamboat: Artesania Latina