Hello from Vermont

I have recently become interested in model ship building and came across this forum.  The content here is fantastic and I know I can learn a lot.  Last summer I bought a hobby metal lathe and soon became interested in model steam engines and boilers.  I have recently linked this hobby to model ship building and now dream of building a steam powered Mississippi River Paddleboat.  I am definitely not ready for that yet but am considering starting with something more basic like a steam launch.  I have done a bit of searching for plans but to be honest I'm not sure where to start.  I definitely want to do a scratch build from plans as I have little to no interest in a kit build.

I have been a backyard carpenter and woodworker my entire life so tools and skills really are not a problem.  Though I have not completed a steam engine or boiler yet I am very close to that.  All of the research is done and many books purchased and studied on both.  I just don't feel like my lathe skills are up to par quite yet to dive into those projects.  I also do some metal casting and 3d printing.  I am somewhat knowledgeable with Sketchup which is very handy for making patterns from 3d prints  for casting.

If anyone could point me in a good direction for some plans it would be greatly appreciated.  I'm thinking something two to three feet long would give me the best opportunity to include the best detail and not be so small it would be fiddley. I guess since this would be my first boat build the more detail the better.

Thank you for accepting me into this forum and I look forward to learning as much as I can here.

Denis

Edited by goatfarmer11

=Denis-

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Under Construction

Miranda

:sign:Hello, this is the place to be, lots will help you on your journey,  Good Luck !!!

Start so you can Finish !!