Bluenose by LegoKing5522 - Model Shipways - 1:100 - Canadian Fishing Schooner

I am new at this so I will do my best with this build log. help is welcome especially with planking since I have never done it before. 

if these pictures are in file format, please tell me and I will keep trying to make them not files. another thing thanks to Azzoun for providing the model and tools.

image.thumb.jpeg.5484c869683e801ae9fb3561c2a4eb1d.jpeg

that's the box. I have made the frame already, though it's not perfect. still needs some filing done to it.

image.thumb.jpeg.b5525ef14af1ad54544721244557673e.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.fcdd004fe885fde9d51215c8e422234b.jpeg

thanks in advance for any advice for this build. 

Something to file away for reference for future builds is to check the straightness of the longitudinal profile former (false keel) before mating the bulkheads to it. Yours looks to have a noticeable bend in it. Another recommendation I would make, and this is worth putting your build on hold for a few days or weeks while you do it, is to get a copy of Ship Modeling Simplified by Frank Mastini and read it. It's a great introduction to the process of building a wooden model, and particularly so in your case because Frank used a build of the very similar Artesania Latina Bluenose kit to illustrate his methods. I think you would find his book very helpful.

Cheers!

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix

I think you have a good start here. At this stage, I would consider building the stand so the model has something to rest in as you're working on it. After a certain point the model won't be too much "in hand" so it's good to have it in a protected spot.