USS Constitution by Snatch Block - BlueJacket Shipcrafters - Bicentennial Edition - 1812-1815 configuration

Hi all. I have a lot of woodwork experience but this is my first model build. I know I am in the deep end of the pool but I am hoping I can learn to swim with some help please. 

My first impressions out of the box are two complaints that neither hull planks or copper plates are included in the kit. When you do add them in it brings the cost up quite a bit but ok we are here now and that is my whinge over. 

I have lined out the solid hull blank and cut out a couple of the station sections from the manual and my first concern is that it seems like I will have to remove a lot of wood to get the hull down to the proper shape. Not a large thickness but a lot of adjustment throughout. Has anyone completed this build before and what do you think. I don't want to start carving off wood without some pointers. 

Thanks in advance. 

Ger 

Hi Ger,

I've built a couple of BJ's solid hull kits (but not the Connie, maybe someday when I have the room). Carving a solid hull to shape is not easy but with your previous woodworking experience and some patience it should not be a problem. You may want to Google for some videos showing how to do it.

I generally use a Dremel tool with a flap sander to get close to the right dimensions then shift to rasps and files to get even closer and finally use flexible sanding sticks to get the curves right and bring it to the final dimensions. That's just my way of doing it, others use carving tools for the entire job - whatever you are comfortable with.

If it seems like you can't reconcile the hull templates with the main deck dimensions you should always keep the main deck dimensions (outline) true - If your main deck is too long, short, wide or narrow you will have multiple problems for the rest of the build.