First build advice on planking

Afternoon,

I have just the last few days started to build my first model which is of HMS Endeavour longboat from the Artesania Latina range. I am going in with no experience building a wooden model before and so far go to the point where I have all the base in place and just now start the dreaded planking.

The instructions that come with this model are no use for this part as it’s seemed to suggest that you have previous planking experience (even if the set is for beginners). So advice please I have never done planking before and am not sure what the best way to go about it. I have read some stuff / seen pictures etc and have a rough idea. However, some advice and guidance would be very helpful so I can start this the weekend.

Regards

Chris

Chris,

Firstly ...

:sign:

Secondly, welcome to the unfortunate hidden truth of too many kits.

Namely, hideous instruction manuals !!

Many that I have encountered have instructions in four to five languages with English translations that just made me scratch my head in wonder !!

Fortunately, you have found the one place on the Inter-Web thingy which can answer any ship-modelling question you may have. Just ask away ...

Edited by CaptainSteve

CaptainSteve
Current Build:  HM Granado Bomb Vessel (Caldercraft)

My BathTub:    Queen Anne Barge (Syren Ship Models)       Log:  Queen Anne Barge (an build log)

Bounty Launch (Model Shipways)                 Log:  Bounty Launch by CaptainSteve
                        Apostol Felipe (OcCre)
                        HMS Victory (Constructo)
Check It Out:   The Kit-Basher's Guide to The Galaxy

Chris,

You have come to the right place.

There is a section of this website called Articles and Downloads. It has a lot of great information.

http://modelshipworldforum.com/ship-model-framing-and-planking-articles.php

This should get you some help.

Richard

Edited by rtropp

Richard
Member: The Nautical Research Guild