Hello from Florida

hello, i am not new to modelling but have been "having a go" for quite a few years , i'm 56 now and grew up in England before moving to sunny florida 15 years ago, my main interest when i started out was model aeroplanes and i built and successfully flew lots of control line and eventually rc planes , now i fly helicopters , scale planes were a dream that i never did get around to fulfilling but that sparked my interest in model ships , the detail in the old galleons ,pardon the pun, floats my boat and although my models aren't historically accurate , i get a lot of enjoyment out of building them. 

i have been building ship models for maybe 20 years now , which sounds like a lot but its been sporadic , my best achievement is a corel HMS Victory which took me over 10 years and was in between the move to the US ,i have built 5 corel kits and a mamoli , for me they look good but would probably be picked apart by a master modeler , i have also just started a corel Endeavour and have looked at several build logs just to see if i am on the right track , everything i have done so far has been self taught and mostly from books , internet wasn't really a thing when i started and my local hobby shop helped a little with books but they are sadly out of business and i have moved away anyway . so  now i find myself trawling the internet for help with these projects and came across model ship world, which i wish i had found earlier there is a wealth of information here . 

anyway that's my story and introduction hello to all

Anthony

Welcome from another Floridian. I'm glad you came across Model Ship World. Your search can end here because this site is the site among sites for anything ship modeling and just about anything in between. When you have a question or just want to say hey, post it on here and you will get all the help you need. Best site on the internet in my opinion and I'm sure it's shared by a lot of others.

mike 

:sign:

Mark